Daily Archives: 18 October, 2013

Friday Foolishness – Prolonged Edition


Today’s Music: ZZ Top – La Grange

Finally, the week is almost over! I’ve been waiting for this since…well, Monday morning. How did I get through the week? By reading blogs! Here’s some of what I saw…
Aussa Lorens posted tips about recognizing and dealing with a stalker. Giggles McJill turned up, and Mike wrote a fantastic reinterpretation of Goldilocks.
Great stuff, from them and all of you.
Regret2
Last week left us looking back at some of the more foolish things we’ve done, and what, in fact, we regretted. And wow, do some of you have some sad tales! here’s what you said. (As always, my comments are remorseful in italics.)

Not wearing leotards in the winter when I was a teenager – Benzeknees
(I don’t regret wearing the leotard. I regret not wearing anything over it.)
Farting without a gas mask 😦 Andro
(If only you had learned from previous mistakes…)
Not calling in sooner… again 😦 Andro
(I regret not calling out sooner.)
Shouldn’t have broken the Multimedia projector in my uni&ran away(Lifeconfusions)
(You ruined the lesson on the socio-militaristic implications of SpongeBob…)
Dating a Man Twice My Age (Aussa Lorens)
(As long as the next one doesn’t have just half your IQ.)
sleeping with kato kaelin. but since this will never see the light of day…..
(I regret knowing who kato was.)
Taking off a slip before gym class. Finding it on class flag pole after. ~Maddie Cochere
(I’d have just given gym class the slip.)
Watching the Dexter finale. ~~Addie
(Spoiler alert: Walter White did it.)
A song by the Gazette! Yeah! Hotspur

(I regret not finding out what hair gel that guy(?) uses.)
regressing into regret. – calahan
(At least you weren’t addressing an egret.)
Never really taking a stand on plain or peanut. Linda Vernon
(Where ever you stand, wash your feet after.)
Not entering last week’s poll. Elyse 54.5
(Just when you thought you were out, they pull you back in!)
It’s hard to have regrets when you’re perfect. –Lily In Canada
(I regret my modesty.)
spending five minutes trying to think of something to say here. thematticuskingdom
(I regret my stats don’t incrememnt by the minute.)
not having any regrets. thematticuskingdom
(Showoff.)
Washing down that cheeto burrito with Crystal Pepsi.
(I regret not being closer to the bathroom when I did that.)
not taking that left turn in Albuquerque! sandylikeabeach
(Just don’t go there during wabbit season.)
not changing my name to Guapola and becoming a famous blogger (SnB)
(Crap! Does that guy know I’m using his name???)
my ambition to be 5’9″ will never come to fruition – Rutabaga
(I regret I didn’t stretch myself for that dream…)
This is just an excuse to quote “My Way”, isn’t it? Not A Punk Rocker
(I regret having a Frankie Says shirt with that on it.)
Not being Canadian so I could have won last week’s poll (Frank)
(On the other hand, that means Bieber isn’t your fault.)
(I hope.)

Another winnerless week, so Congratulations to everyone who avoided that stigma! And from the offered choices, the most popular were a tie between trying New Coke. and It was a weekend in Paris. The sun was warm…the wine had nose…the babies were smoking… So congratulations to everyone who can admit those terrible things to themselves!
Bethlehem
I think it’s obvious that I don’t spend a lot of time crafting these polls. But if I had the time, would I? And more importantly, if you had the time, what would you do? That’s what the inquiring minds at Guapo Labs want to know this week. But you don’t have forever to think about it, because this one closes at 2359 EDT, Wednesday, 23 October, so get your answers in by then.

And until net week, because of the general crapiness of the world, it’s noce to be reminded that there are still some of us romantic saps out there.
Enjoy this…

Hope you all have a great week!