Friday Foolishness – Post Thanksgiving Edition


Today’s Music: Arlo Guthrie – Alice’s Restaurant

Happy Day After Thanksgiving.
Hope you are all fat and happy.

Arlo Guthrie’s traditional Thanksgiving classic is above. Enjoy the performance.

Now to old business.
Last week’s poll brought some interesting Other answers:
– Anything. ‘Cause me juggling anything is comedy. And sad.
– jugglers
– Volkswagens, cause that would impress the chicks
– I’m combining two of your choices and saying wet, soapy cats.

I personally like them all, the first because it gives voice to the joy and pathos of life (hey, it’s Friday Foolishness. Yes, I can say things like that). The second, just for the meta-ness of it, and the third because I think it would work (despite what Weenie Girl says.
And Cats and soap? How could you not love that!

And the winner, with the most votes, is
Time (but I’m too busy to schedule a class)

Thanks to all you lucky guessers out there.

Today’s question in keeping with the season, is

Voting ends 1 December 23:59 (Thursday Night)

Have a great weekend!

22 responses to “Friday Foolishness – Post Thanksgiving Edition

  1. Hope you all enjoyed your Thanksgiving. In Canada we celebrate Thanksgiving on the 2nd Monday of October. What burns me is that we only get the one day off and it is a Monday. This makes it very difficult to recover sufficiently to be back to work on Tuesday. Enjoy your weekend (very long weekend), whilst I head off to work.

    Like

  2. Sincere apologies, John.
    But you guys have Boxing Day to look forward to, and we don’t get that…
    Also, US financial markets are open, so everyone who works in some relation to that field is working today.

    Like

  3. haha i’m glad you wrote an after-thanksgiving post too.

    Like

  4. Hi,
    I hope you had a great Thanksgiving, we don’t have this tradition here in OZ, but I still did your poll, I chose “Be thankful I only have to do this once a year” as I know there would of been a lot of Lady’s and Guys that would of worked very hard in the kitchen for Thanksgiving for family and friends. 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow…my two favorite blogs had the same theme yesterday but from very different perspectives. Have a look: http://fussylittleblog.com/2011/11/24/a-thanksgiving-movement/

    I actually had the pleasure of flipping on the radio yesterday and by chance, there it was…the song. I loved being able to pull over and listen till the end because I had a relaxing day while the hubby made dinner and I recovered from the 5k before having a drink with some friends.

    Today, the day after, it’s been a pleasure to finish all my errands, my shopping online and (finageling some kick-ass deals), to have glorious weather in which to get all the leaves out of my yard an into my neighbor’s (just kidding…only a little) and to have quiet time with my boys. But not really quiet…they’ll be screaming at the wii game.

    So much to be thankful for…

    Like

  6. Hang in there WG. It’s only the beginning of the holiday season.

    Like

  7. I finally got to vote. I have missed the polls the last two weeks. I really wanted to vote Brains – but I was skird…

    Like

  8. If yesterday was Black Friday, is today Black Sabbath? That might be a good selection for today’s music.

    Like

  9. Love the music choice, Guapo. My family has been listening to Alice’s Restaurant ever since I was a little kid. (Since before then, in fact, but those years don’t count.)

    My favorite part was always when he says “We decided one big pile would be better than two little ones, and rather than bring that one up, we decided to throw ours down.”

    I voted in your foolish poll, but I had to answer with what I DID the day after thanksgiving. I won’t tell my answer. Let’s just wait and see the results next week.

    Like

  10. Sorry I’m late … but was out of town. YEP – Music should have featured Black something. Meanwhile … we kept eating in a race to see who can eat the most without going to the toilet.

    Hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

    Like

  11. I have a suggestion for next week’s Friday poll.

    What do you think is the real cause of global warming? One of the choices should be “so many bloggers spouting so much hot air has to lead to some kind of consequence. After all, how many of them actually have something to say that’s worth hearing?”

    Just an idea.

    Like

  12. Pingback: Friday Foolishness – Travel Edition | Guapola

  13. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and outstanding design and style.

    Like

Ahem *best Ricky Ricardo voice* Babble-OOOoooo!!!