Daily Archives: 15 October, 2011

On Blogging


Today’s Music: The Wombats

Over at Smart Boy Designs, Christian Hollingsworth did a survey, asking “Why Do You Blog?”. He profiled several bloggers, and there answers were quite interesting, as were the comments.
They ranged from altruistic – “I want to help people with whatever it was that I’ve also gone through”, to more self serving – “I think I can make a living at this”, self-help – “I can become a better writer by blogging and practicing my craft”, to a host of other reasons.
It’s worth checking out.
I myself follow several blogs – John Scalzi (observations about everything), The Bloggess (can’t be described. Just go check it out.), Old Dog, New Tits (very entertaining about a woman researching breast implants, with occasional interruptions form the rest of the universe), Old Jules (also commenting on anything and everything, in a very laid back style. And lately, with lots of limericks).
Each of these blogs is different. Each wants readers and comments. I think each, without readers and comments would still be posted to regularly by the authors.
See, everyone has something to say. Everyone has thoughts or ideas they want to shout out to the universe.
So do I. That’s why I’m here. The universe, being what it is, really doesn’t care. But that’s not really the point, is it?
I’ll publish this entry, I’ll flog it on twitter.
I’ll comment in other blogs, where hopefully the comment will be relevant and clever enough to make it’s readers curious enough about me to draw them here.
Maybe they’ll read through the posts, or the music page and find something that interests them, and they’ll comment, or like, or tweet, or something else that lets me know they’ve been here.

But I don’t think that’s what’s important to me (though I can’t speak to what is important to the bloggers called out here (or any of the other millions of bloggers out there)).
To me, the point of my blog is to give me a soapbox to shout from. And to just get whatever it is off my chest. Whatever it may be.
I’d like it to have a theme. That’s part of why I have the “Today’s Music” link at the top of every post. I had originally had “Today’s Adventure” too, but lately it seems like I haven’t had any real good adventures. And sometimes, what is on my mind is out of left field…

So basically you’re getting music, and my babblings.

But another part of why I blog is to vent. If you look through the older posts, you’ll see that there are a few related to having a crappy week, or a relative’s health issues. I can talk about it to my wife (the most wonderful girl in the universe), but I don’t want to unload on her (though I could and sometimes do).
The posts I’ve had about music aren’t at all objective. I’m not interested in the skill (mostly) of the band, more on whether or not I like the music. So another point of the blog is to show what great music taste I have and hopefully turn you on to something you might like.
In the end, I think perhaps the primary reason I blog is to put it out there, to leave some record that I was here, even if it’s a short, frequently inane one.

Oh, and some posts have limericks too!