There Goes The Neighborhood…


Today’s Music: AC/DC – Long Way to the Top

I read a whole bunch of blogs. I started reading them when I started mine. There are some on food and writing, there are blogs on travel and music, there are blogs of folks just venting their spleens, or taking the mickey out of us all.
They are written by people with a similar perspective to mine, from different perspectives, the light, the right, the straight, narrow, gay, religious, what have you.

And I love every last one of them.
I think All of them are from a unique point of view, and all of them have something to say. Not that I don’t, but frequently, “Being Pointless On The Internet” is not just a tagline around here, it’s a way of life.

So imagine my shock when I was nominated for a Versatile Blogger award by 2 bloggers whose sites I enjoy a lot.

MINE!!!!! (bwahaha)

But with nifty logos come great responsibilities, and this one carries the following:
* Nominate 15 fellow bloggers.
* Inform the bloggers of their nomination.
* Share 7 random things about yourself.
* Thank the blogger who nominated you.
* Add the Versatile Blog Award logo on your blog post.

But, hey, look at that! I’ve already finished the last one on the list. Sure it’s out of order, but for those who know me, the fact that I got any of the requirements done will come as a shock.

Next, and more importantly, I’d like to direct you to the two bloggers who nominated me (yes, I’ve got the comments to prove they did):

First off, The Budget Cooking Blog. Dan McCullough not only knows how to cook, he knows how to explain a recipe. Which is kind of wasted on me, as I’m the guy who makes inedible cheese fondue soup.
Dan makes it look easy, and taste great.
And if you live in Chicago, he’ll tell you where to go for the food bargains. He’ll do this even if you don’t live in Chicago, but you’ll have to fly there so it might not be so cost effective.

The other nominator, in whose reflected glory I bask, is Pursuit of Happiness. Reading her blog is like hanging out in a good friends kitchen. I’m only sorry that I don’t have USB Scent Cannons (sharper Image, $79.95) for my PC to add those delicious cooking smells when I’m reading it.

Pick up the pace, buddy...I've got stuff to do...

I’m also supposed to send you to 15 other sites who I think are deserving of the Versatile Blogger award. There are some I won’t add on the list because they’ve already been nominated, and I don’t want them to be bombarded with these things. They lose their shine if you do that.
So here’s my list of nominees: (by the way, being nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award means you’ve won it. So Congratulations!)

Unintimidated By Convention In addition to his excellent entries, he is the keeper of the Bozo list. He also manages to keep going in the real world and prove it can be done.

Is It Possible To See It All. It’s a running commentary on Travel, Music and Canada. Now I may have said some mean things before to Canada, but his blog makes up for most of it. Go for the music, stay for the travel.

Call Me Quirky. This site is a lot of fun. A stream of consciousness, plus the sight that introduced me to the phrase Slutty McSluttums, and also to the concept of salad dressing in a hat. You can’t buy entertainment like that folks. At least not with a credit card under your real name. Or so I’ve been told.

The Flame Inside. She wrote a post that moved me, and that moved others. And sometimes, she’s really funny too. Quite versatile.

Linda Vernon Humor. Lately she has opined on Pottery Barn catalogs and ’30s cookbook fiction. Really.

Upsidedown Pineapple. She doesn’t post as often as I’d like (I’d like daily please), but I find her hilarious. And she’s got a mouth like a drunken sailor.

Old Dog New Tits. She started off contemplating a breast job and went to dealing with a lung mass with a lot of honesty and humor. And naked mole rats. You can find hte mole rat entries on your own, because I ain’t gonna encourage that kind of behavior. Blech.

Elle Tea Emm. She writes great poetry.

YoYo-Dyne Propulsion Systems: Reno Division. She’s been blogging for years, and it is a wonderful collection of posts form the ordinary to the sublime covering the gamut of the human condition. (Yes, gamut.). Even if she wasn’t a fantastic blogger (which she is), she definitely deserves it just for finding this. And she knows classic movies and music!

Whitney’s Soup. Because she knows how to answer the dreaded How Are You? at work, and how to act like a grownup.

Cannabalistic Nerd. Because where else will you find this?

Magsx2. Great videos, and every friday, a stack of jokes! Just pick any post from his site – they are all wonderful, like this or this.

Goradde. He captions pictures. They.Are. Hilarious.

Ashley Jillian. She’s probably gotten this like 9 times. Or should have. Really, where else are you going to get Cat Plates!!!

Bio Scientific Editing. Why a blog that strays from the silliness? Well, because thanks to her, i know a brief history of the U.S. medical profession. And I now know how to use a
light microscope.

Top of the world, ma!

And now 7 random things about me:
– I once ran under a moving truck because I didn’t fell like waiting for it to pass.
– I can say my pencil is green in 5 languages (thanks for the Finnish translation, Kanerva!)
– I know how to correctly use both a 20 sided die and a 44 Magnum.
– I was (a long time ago in a previous life) selected as my local bars’ best drunk driver.
– My current ear piercing is the fourth time I’ve had it done. It’s also the first time it hasn’t gotten infected, the first time it was done by a pro, and the first time I got one and wasn’t drunk. (I just have one – the previous three were all allowed to close as part of the healing).
– I make Kick. Ass. Whipcream.
– I expect my last word before I depart will be Oops. And I’m really curious what the situation will be. (But I can happily wait to find out!)

So there it is. I blog. I’m Versatile. Woohoo!
For all those blogs I read but didn’t nominate, let’s just say I’m saving your sites for myself. Because you won’t respond to my comments if you get too popular. Or if you get a restraining order…

So thanks again to Dan and Sush. Despite the flippancy,I really do appreciate it.

Is he done yet? Sheesh, next time just mail the award..


Don’t worry, I won’t let this go to my head…much!

51 responses to “There Goes The Neighborhood…

  1. Hehe! I’m honored! That just gave me a smile, thanks for the vote of confidence 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, BioScientific. Big Science will be showing up at your door with a large check in exchange for your endorsements now!
      And I’ll be able to say I knew you when!

      Like

  2. Yay! Thanks! I’m honored.

    Now I’m excited to read all the other blogs too!

    Like

  3. Congrats! Your blog is terrific! I’m going to check out your recommendations.

    Like

    • Thanks, Sandylikeabeach. I really enjoy all of them.
      And yours, but didn’t want to make you go through posting the whole thing again. (15 bloggers, plus links? That’s alot of typing!)

      Like

  4. Hi,
    Thank You very much for the nomination, a wonderful Christmas present. 😀

    Like

  5. Many thanks my dear! Not only the award (yikes 3rd time I’ve been nominated so I’d better get off of my lazy ass and actually post this) but for pointing me to some great new writing to check out!

    Love YOUR blog, but now I can’t nominate you. damn.

    You have made my day and night with the kind words and honor. Truly do not know how to thank you. MUAH!

    ~The Quite Deranged Miss R

    Like

    • Arrggh. I tried to find evidence of it so no one would have to go through all the posting twice.
      A sincere You’re welcome, The Quite Deranged Miss R. We wouldn’t have you any other way!

      Like

  6. Thanks, now I have all this extra work to do, and Christmas is just around the corner, and work is crazy and I’m losing my hair from stress and thanks very much, I truly appreciate this as well as your support and comments at my place. Not to mention that you have a great blog and deserve to be awarded.

    Like

  7. upsidedownpineapple

    Oh my goodness! thanks! and I promise I will do my best to post more often, but I can’t promise daily posts! I really appreciate you for reading and commenting on my sporadic posts.

    Like

  8. Thanks for the nom! I actually nominated you for this the week before last: http://www.cannibalisticnerd.com/i-once-pulled-a-muscle-being-versatile/

    Slightly different rules. But I take our passing nominations as a sign of mutual respect. And if you continue to run under moving trucks, I think it’s pretty obvious what demise will be following that “oops!”

    Like

  9. El Guapo! You are the El Guapo-est El Guapo EVER! Thank you so much for the nomination! You are now officially in my will. You, Mr. El Guapo, now stand to inherit . . . drumroll please . . . all my Pottery Barn Catalogs (and any loose change that should happen to get stuck to any of the pages!) 🙂

    Like

  10. Well done. You are a worthy recipient of this award.

    Like

  11. whoa this is damn awesome. you are so kind, kind sir. can i have this moment to say i’m actually a she? (does my text *look* and *sound* that manly?)

    Like

    • I had no idea! Though I guess that could be a reason why most of your “Best Ass” pics are guys…and a lot of your pics give the girl the punchline…
      Thanks, Gorrade!

      Like

  12. Wow! Very cool, Guapo. Thanks for the nomination. You certainly deserved this award, but I’d be fooling myself to think I’m in the same league.

    Three words: I am flattered.

    Like

  13. Guapo … Once time becomes available, I’m anxious to visit the sites you listed. Best Driving Drunk award is very impressive!

    Thanks for your patience on my irregular visits as the work treadmill and holiday demands are my current havoc. As you know, I’m behind at replying to comments (which bugs me a lot).

    And thanks for your great blog!

    Like

    • Best Drunk Driving award, yes. Best “Remembering where I left the car”? not so much.
      Your comments and posts are always a welcome treat. Take care of what you have to, aFrankAngle. We’ll all be around when you have time
      Thanks!

      Like

      • I would like to share an experience with you all, about drinking and
        driving. As you well know, some of us have been known to have had brushes
        with the authorities on our way home from the odd social session over the
        years. A couple of nights ago, I was out for a few drinks with some friends
        and had a few too many beers and some rather nice claret. Knowing full well
        I may have been slightly over the limit, I did something I’ve never done
        before – I took a bus home.I arrived home safely and without incident, which was a real surprise, as I have never driven a bus before and am not sure where I got this one.

        Like

  14. pursuitofhappieness

    You are more than welcome 🙂 I seriously want to run under a truck now too, is that weird hehe

    Like

  15. Congrats! I guess you’ll live forever as long as you never utter the word “oops” again.

    Like

  16. hmmmmmm congratulations! I was thinking while I read your post that I was irked lol…because I was hella damn sure I had nominated you for this award when I received it in early November – how would I not? ( yes there were some that missed that I did and went on to get it again later which is not an issue I assure you 😉 i was playing about the irked part) so I was gonna put the link here and say – you have had this award for over a month sir! BUT as you see, there is no link, BECAUSE it was after that when I ..or You..well we discovered each other’s blogs. Weird I had just assumed it was well before that…… SOOOO this award looks good on you and I would have no doubt had you on my list of nominees if I had known of you then. Incidentally I have received another award that I am for sure passing on to you – so just don’t miss your comments 🙂 in the near future and get some more of those fun facts ready – that’s what I’m stuck on lol…..
    and GOOD JOB !! BRAVO !! KUDOS!! and all those great things..you earned it! 🙂
    Peace

    Like

  17. Thank you!
    You deserve every award there is and then some.
    In fact, you should have an award named after you. But I don’t know how we would test people to make sure they have that certain “je ne sais quoi” of yours…

    and…”Sir”? Ouch! 😉

    Like

    • oh go one with your bad self now! 😯 LOL you are too kind. An award named after me? It might be a most distinctive award – surely if it could be defined. Maybe a blog post “My je ne sais quoi…”..but – I don’t know what – to say. hmmm – I didn’t even know I have it. You make it hard to be humble sometimes but I am very appreciative of your – presence. And the fact that you Rock with an Awesomeness that sets the bar quite high indeed. 😎 ( I can say it better than that if I wait til the morning – oh it is morning…yeah I’ll be back soon )

      Don’t fret over the Sir 😛 – it was just to get your attention because I had already nominated you except….. I didn’t. I meant no harm .- a bratty little foot stomp if you will. I shall refrain from bring a brat 🙂 .Peace

      Like

  18. Okay. I did it. That was a lot of work and none of my Christmas gifts are wrapped. I’m now thinking plastic grocery bags.

    Anything, thanks for the props. You certainly deserve them yourself. Hopefully my multiple mentions on the following post will score you the accolades you’ve got coming to you. 🙂

    Boobs + Mean Girl Barbies + Naked Mole Rats = Versatile Blogger

    Like

  19. Congratulations!

    “I once ran under a moving truck because I didn’t fell like waiting for it to pass.”—-YOU DID WHAT? I thought they only did that in the movies. Or you’re a superhero. That’s the only other explanation.

    Like

  20. thank you, thank you, thank you!! it’s so funny to me that other people enjoy anything that i write, so i’m really touched by this!!!!

    Like

  21. So let me see if I really get how his works. By virtue of being nominated, you actually win the award. And in response, you are charged with picking additional nominees (winners), acknowledging those who nominated you and talking more about yourself. Is that right? Sounds like the mutual adoration society I belong to.
    On a separate note, I’ve been wondering about the possible relationship between the growing blogosphere and global warming. With the easy access every internet User has to sharing their thoughts, more and more hot air is released into the atmosphere. With nowhere to escape, it heats the planet even more. It isn’t quite the quantum physics you were discussing but it is a legitimate science question for you. I’ll look forward to your (and any other) response. Thank you.

    Like

    • Wow, when you miss the point, you go as far off as possible,,,
      Relating global warming and the blogosphere is akin to the Native American tautology –
      The Native American is disappearing.
      That man is a Native American.
      Therefore, that man is disappearing.

      Ssee what I mean? Doesn’t quite work. Just because the two are happening at the same time doesn’t suggest/imply/demonstrate a causal relationship between them.
      As far as the mutual adoration society, that’s exactly what it is. It’s an opportunity to show other bloggers that we enjoy their stuff, and let others know “Hey, this is worth checking out.”
      And hell, recognition is always nice, especially in a segment where the whole point is to speak to people,or at least put something out there for people to see…
      Hey, if you start a blog, maybe you’ll win one too! (but not from me!)

      And as always, thanks, for coming by!

      Like

      • 1. That man of which you speak, he isn’t disappearing, he’s just going out for a quick smoke.

        2. What makes you think I don’t already have a blog? What makes you think I haven’t already been nominated? Maybe I’ve even been selected to win a major award.

        Like

  22. Oops! Priceless. I hope I remember this cause I want it to be the last thing I say as well. Knowing me it will be $h!* ! Merry Christmas

    Like

Ahem *best Ricky Ricardo voice* Babble-OOOoooo!!!